Hanham Methodist Church

War Memorial

By Claire Angell

Hanham Methodist Church has a vibrant history.

The area itself is of great historic significance with the green lighted beacon on Hanham Mount marking the location of free-church preaching in the 18th century, and where John Wesley, the founding father of Methodism was first inspired to preach in the open air in 1739.  The church itself, originally known as Ebenezer Methodist Church, was built in 1851 by local collier families and labourers. Since then it has undergone a number of transformations and developments.

Photo:click to enlarge

click to enlarge


We remember those whose names appear on our Church War Memorial:-

1914-1918

William Ashmead
Reginald Ashmead
Raymond Britton
Alec Bright
Tom Carter
Gilbert Carter
Fred Gibbs
Horace Godfrey
Herbert Hatherell
Wilfrid Swaffield
Abram Williams
Albert Williams
William Williams

1939-1945

William Forward
Kenneth Iles
Wyndham Parnell
David Williams




This page was added by Claire Angell on 17/01/2014.

If you're already a registered user of this site, please login using the form on the left-hand side of this page.